Computer Sciences (CS)


Welcome to the Department of Computer Science at the Faculty of Computer and Mathematical Sciences (FSKM), Universiti Teknologi MARA.  It is the first sciences programmes in Malaysia that were introduced by the faculty which is the Diploma in Computer Sciences (1969), Post Graduate Diploma in System Analysis (1975) and Certificate in Computer Programming (1975). At present the department consists of 80 staffs whereby 6 academicians with degree holders, 50 with Masters and 22 with Phd. The department is aim to train future ICT professionals that give high impact in various industries.

It offers three undergraduate programmes, its Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons), Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons) in Multimedia Computing and Diploma in Computer Science. While the postgraduate offers MSc. of Computer Science, MSc. of Science (Computer Science) and Phd in Computer Science.  

In order to commit with the highest levels of excellence in both teaching and research the graduate students can choose from projects spanning the entire spectrum of computer science research and beyond. In this department the faculty members are actively engaged in 13 varieties of Research Interest Group (RIG) with colleagues across the university and beyond which are Interactive Computing and Communication Technique, Adaptive Agent Systems, Scientific Visualization, Computational Digital Speed Signal Processing, Information Retrieval, Image Bioinformatics, Digital Forensic, High Performance Computing, Computational Linguistics, Computer Graphics, Vision and Visualization, Assistive Technology, Gamification and Applied Ontology.